Wolfgang Becker

Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging Ophthalmoscopy, Principles and Applications

The lecture will be both for experts and for beginners. It will cover the spectroscopic basics of the method, the instrumental principles, the basics of data analysis, the challenges associated with FLIO analysis, new data analysis principles, and their implementation in bh's new generation SPCImage NG software. Please see more details below.

Request access to the webinar recording

Participants will automatically get a link to the recording some time after the webinar.

    Date: Friday, 23 April 2021 - Available on Demand

    • 7 AM PDT (San Francisco)
    • 10 AM EDT (New York)
    • 4 PM CEST (Berlin)
    • 5 PM MSK (Moscow)
    • 10 PM CST (Beijing)
    • 11 PM JST (Tokyo)

    Overview

    This Lecture will be about:

    The Fluorescence Decay Function
    From Single-Exponential to Multi-Exponential Decay
    Molecular Information Derived from the Decay Functions
    How are FLIO Data Recorded?
    Optical Principle of FLIO
    TCSPC FLIM
    The Photon Distribution of FLIM
    From the Photon Distribution to the Lifetime Image
    The Instrument Response Function (IRF)
    Convolution
    The Fit procedure
    Accuracy of FLIM Results
    Analysis of FLIO Data
    Challenges of FLIO Analysis
    Mistakes in Earlier Analysis Procedures
    New FLIO-Analysis Procedures
    IRF Modelling
    Decay Modelling: Shifted-Component Model
    Separating Fundus and Lens Fluorescence
    Example: Cataract Patient
    Analysing FLIO Data with SPCImage NG
    Entry-Level Functions
    Model Definitions
    Calculation of Lifetime Images
    GPU Processing
    Display of Results
    Higher-Level Functions
    Images of Decay Components
    Ratios of Parameters from Different Wavelength Channels
    Image Segmentation

    About the speaker

    Wolfgang Becker is specialist in time-resolved optical detection techniques. He obtained his PhD 1979 in Berlin, Germany. Since 1993 he is the head of Becker & Hickl GmbH in Berlin. His field of interest is development and application of advanced Time-Correlated Single Photon Counting techniques. He started to develop multi-dimensional TCSPC techniques in 1989, and is the originator of the TCSPC FLIM technique that is now widely used in laser scanning microscopes. He is author of the bh TCSPC handbook, now out in the 8th edition, and of ‘Advanced Single Photon Counting Techniques’, Springer, 2005, and editor of ‘Advanced Single Photon Counting Applications’, Springer, 2015. He likes cats, skiing and beach volleyball.

    © 2019 Becker & Hickl GmbH. All rights reserved.

    Privacy PolicyImprint